NE Herts MP and colleagues encourage closer collaboration between police, fire, and other emergency services

The Rt Hon Amber Rudd MP, Home Secretary

Mr Robert Gordon, Leader Hertfordshire County Council



We, the eleven Hertfordshire MPs, believe it is vital that our emergency services and, in particular, our Police and Fire Departments, work even more closely together to make them more efficient and improve the service to the public of Hertfordshire.

Bringing police and fire into a single governance structure under the existing Police and Crime Commissioner makes sense; it will save money that can be spent on front line services which is currently spent on administration; this will help achieve these goals. 

That is why the Government passed legislation to allow this to happen and support our PCC in taking up this opportunity.

The business case, which is currently out for consultation, offers significant benefits, not least the prospect of a new focus on our fire service and the modernisation of its estate.  We would urge everyone to read the business case for themselves and contribute with an open mind to the consultation.

Finally, we believe that we must have the best and most efficient fire and rescue service and this will help the front line of our emergency services achieve that.

Yours sincerely,


The Rt Hon Mike Penning MP           Bim Afolami MP

Hemel Hempstead                              Hitchin & Harpenden


Oliver Dowden MP                             The Rt Hon David Gauke MP

Hertsmere                                           South West Hertfordshire


Richard Harrington MP                       The Rt Hon Sir Oliver Heald MP       

Watford                                               North East Hertfordshire


Anne Main MP                                    Stephen McPartland MP

St Albans                                             Stevenage


Mark Prisk MP                                   The Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP

Hertford and Stortford                        Welwyn Hatfield


Charles Walker OBE MP